Eminem Burns Rival Rappers on Surprise Album ‘Kamikaze’

The cover art pays tribute to the Beastie Boys classic, “Licensed to Ill.”

Eminem Promo
Getty Images

Less than a year after Eminem released Revival to mixed reviews, the self-proclaimed “Rap God” dropped a full-length follow-up album with absolutely no warning. 

Marshall Mathers made waves in the hip hop world when he tweeted a link to purchase Kamikaze accompanied by a simple message last night.

“Tried not 2 overthink this 1… enjoy,” he wrote. 

Many immediately noticed that on the album’s fighter jet cover art pays homage to the Beastie Boys classic, Licensed to Ill. 

Across 13 tracks, Eminem spits about his distaste for mumble rappers with “choppy flow. As All Hip Hop notes, the superstar Detroit rapper also disses Tyler the Creator, Drake, Machine Gun Kelly, Charlamagne Tha God, Lil Xan and more. 

Joe Budden, who once said he got sober with the help of Eminem but recently lambasted Revival as “trash,” is targeted on “Fall.” It’s probably not a coincidence that Kamikaze arrived on Budden’s birthday. 

“Somebody tell Budden before I snap/He better fasten it or have his body bag get zipped/The closest thing he’s had to hits is smacking bitches,” Em raps.

The Dr. Dre-produced record features longtime collaborator Royce da 5’9″ and Joyner Lucas. Rolling Stone reports that the track  “Greatest” is an “interpolation” of Kendrick Lamar’s 2017 hit, “Humble.”

Early reactions have been positive: 




Spotify users can listen to Kamikaze in its entirety by following the link in this tweet: 

See the full track listing below: 

1. “The Ringer”
2. “Greatest”
3. “Lucky You” featuring Joyce Lucas
4. “Paul – Skit”
5. “Normal”
6. “Em Calls Paul – Skit”
7. “Stepping Stone”
8. “Not Alike” featuring Royce 5’9″
9. “Fall”
10. “Kamikaze”
11. “Nice Guy” featuring Jessie Reyez
12. “Good Guy” featuring Jessie Reyez
13. “Venom” from the Motion Pictur