John Malkovich Is Releasing an Album and It’s Creepy As Hell

Listen to what happens when you combine Ric Ocasek from The Cars with Plato’s “Allegory of the Cave.”

Something about John Malkovich is terrifying. Don’t you agree? He seems the sort of overly brilliant that verges a step or two too close to “I put paint chips in my bologna sandwiches.” The actor is now trying his hand at music (of sorts) for an album called Like a Puppet Show that’s being released as an exclusive for Record Store Day’s Black Friday event on November 27. 

The premise of the album revolves around Malkovich reading Plato’s “Allegory of the Cave” over original music, which he then sent to a bunch of different musicians to futz with. The first we’ve heard from the album is called “Cryoblue Cheese O” and was mixed by Ric Ocasek from The Cars

In a press release, Ocasek said:

“The poem ‘Allegory of a Cave’ narrated by John Malkovich sounded eerie to me so I set it into that kind of musical landscape. The poem felt current, even though it was written around 380 B.C. by Plato. Only the ridiculers and weapons have changed as we move through time.” 

Here’s the full tracklist for the album:

01 Cryolife 7:14 A.M. (Mixed by Yoko Ono & Sean Lennon)

02 Cryocarbon 14C (Mixed by OMD)

03 Cryoblue Cheese Ο (Mixed by Ric Ocasek)

04 CryoZolon X (Mixed by Dweezil Zappa)

05 Cryoparoxsym A (Mixed by Young the Giant)

06 Platogenia X And The Caves (Mixed by the Dandy Warhols)

07 Cryostat Ø (Mixed by Efterklang)

08 Cryoplacebo 47/XXY (Mixed by Placebo)

09 Photogenia C (Ruler Of Light) (Mixed by Chris Stein)

10 Optimogenia Z [Edit Mix] (Mixed by Harry Waters)

11 Cryopian D (Mixed by Dolores O’Riordan)

Photos by Promo